top of page

Blue Arts Media Blog

BAM Finds Helping Hands


I recently met a man by the name of Mitch Jacobson, owner and operator of Catigory 5 Studios NYC. He runs a beautiful and well equipped editing studio in manhattan, midtown west. After learning about what Mitch does I asked if I could find some time to get the ANYA film edit underway at his studios.

His main workhorse is a 12 core Mac pro (Trashcan) maxed to the brim with all the goodies; a 52 TB raid 5 system; also a batch of displays at your disposal for a very large desktop envirmont to swim in. He also has an impressive list of applications from Adobe suite to Davinci Resolve to FCPX along with all of its accoutrements. I probably havn't named everything, so I'm sure he has much more under the hood.

Category 5 Studios pictured below

I will be in his studio this week, working on the film cut. I asked mitch about letting me interview him for a later blog post. It seemed as though he would be interested, but thats if he has the time lol. He has an impressive client list as well as a hefty 35+ years working in TV,film. Did I mention Mitch also owns and operates New Teks Tricaster and has been at the forfront of this technology as he is a contact trainer for the company. I guess I can't name everything this man does in one blog post, but I cant wait to pick his brain soon!

You can check out Category 5 Studios Website Here:


bottom of page